Testing the Waters.

Tribulation: n. Great affliction, trial, or distress; suffering

So I have this theory. I always think that my best moments in life are captured within the solitude of an even year. I know, it sounds slightly crazy, but I look back on my life and it is very much true. I couldn’t wait for 2011 to be over with because it was crap. So moving on through 2012, it has been fairly decent. Well until last week. I started off great! Went to the gym to get a personal training assessment, made some jokes – had a good time. Tuesday I woke up and felt like a train wreck. I ended up getting some sort of sinus infection because of this bipolar Georgia weather. It was literally 65 one day and 33 the next. Crazy. So I ended up out of commission until Thursday-ish. Needless to say I was behind. I tried to catch up over the weekend that I to cram a bridal shower for an old college roommate, school, and some tasks for my grandmother in one day. So… in the midst of trying to write my paper, my car – whose name is Thelma – decides this would be an opportune time to take a break on working properly. Long story short I was left stranded with an expensive2WD-4WD part to replace, and 6 hours to write a paper. Point of the story? When life throws you some tribulations… you have to power through. Thelma is still “man-down” but I finished my paper, and I am slowly able to breathe again.

What Doesn’t Kill Us Makes Us Stronger

Moving on to the Mini Bucket List…. I had a few firsts last week. It was my first trip to the World Farmer’s Market here in Atlanta. I LOVED it. It reminded me a lot of the Spanish open-air market I went to in Barcelona all the time. I am making it a personal goal to try and purchase fresh foods as opposed to processed items whenever I can. While in the market I bought my first ever piece of fish! Trust me, this is a big deal. I tasted tilapia my friend had over lunch previously that afternoon and decided I can possibly dig that.  So, I purchased one piece.  I haven’t cooked it yet, because of the tribulations I had, but when I do, the finished piece will be revealed.

And for one of my rolling Bucket List goals I am going to take the advice of my fortune cookie I received this week…

try and go somewhere! Vegas anyone??

4 thoughts on “Testing the Waters.

  1. Really fun blog Rachel! Isn’t it funny that New Years is our stop and start point for life to change. I do the same thing 🙂

    Your topic is very relatable. I think we all have at least a mental bucket list but we get so busy it almost always gets pushed to the side. If more of us put it in writing, maybe we’d all be facing little challenges that would make our lives a dash more diverse.

    Maybe pose a question in your blog to ask others what’s on their bucket list or what new things they’ve tried recently? Sometimes other people’s ideas can offer inspiration for a few additions to the list!

  2. Isn’t it great though when you can write a paper about not having the time to write your paper? 🙂

    I’m sorry to hear about the rough start to your week (year), but I did enjoy reading your blog. Best of luck with the weekend!!

  3. I love reading your post they are great! Always entertaining and fun. I hope you have a better week next week. You have a real quirky personality and this blog shows it. I think that it is funny that you like even years over odd years and now that I think about last year was kind of a bummer, but this year seems to be going pretty well for me to.
    Can’t wait to see what you write about next time.

Leave a Reply

