Manifestion.

So I have two years to seriously make a dent in my bucket list.  Two years to make improvements, try new things, and cross off some of those items that I created a few years ago.  This is a long time coming and I am pretty excited to actually get the ball rolling.

My bucket list was manifested on a late weekend night, sitting in the bed alongside my BFF Jennifer writing down everything that we wanted to do for the remaining part of our lives.  It was a great idea, one that I am pretty sure that we got from watching the movie The Bucket List.  Great Movie – I highly recommend it if you haven’t seen it.

So there we sat, writing down everything we possibly wanted to do that we could think of.  Unfortunately, the washer eventually got a hold of my original bucket list…

The idea is to keep the same piece of paper that you originally wrote on, but considering the remaining pieces I had to re-write mine =/  But I still keep the original in my journal for memento purposes.

So, I gave my self the deadline of 28.  why 28 you ask? Because I want to have something to show for at my 10-year high school reunion.  I know, silly, but at the time that was a great idea and i was 23.  Now… I am 26.  I have precisely two years to make some things happen.  Now realistically, my bucket list has some pretty awesome stuff on it, and I will most likely not be able to cross off everything in the next two years, but I have given myself the option to cross off at least one of those items per year.  In the mean time, for the next two years I have made it a goal to step out of my box at least once a week.

So, that’s what I am going to do.  I started this week off with trying a traditional English dish my friend’s parents made this weekend – Steak and Kidney Pie. Now, I am a pretty picky eater exempting anything to do with random organs, seafood, mushrooms, olives, and a number of other things from my dietary list, so this was huge.

My goal was to try something new, and I did. and you know what? It wasn’t so bad. I think this whole mini weekly bucket list is getting off to a great start.

3 thoughts on “Manifestion.

  1. I really enjoyed reading your blog and I think that you have set yourself a great goal! I am looking forward to seeing what you accomplish over this semester. Congrats on trying the steak and kidney pie, I am a very picky eater as well so I know how hard it is to try new things. Keep up the great work!
    Alice

  2. Hi Rachel,
    I am hooked. I am huge believer in goals and I think a bucket list is much cooler than other goals like getting all A’s or losing 10 lbs. Did I miss it or did you publish the entire list. I would like to see the whole thing. You never know, with such a diverse class we might have already done some of the things on your list and could give you pointers. Steak and Kidney pie??? Blech! You are a brave woman.

    Can’t wait to read more.

    Sean

  3. I really like how you write your blog. This may seem like a small thing, but your writing is very conversational, like you’re talking to your reader. I think that’s a key part of blogs, although I’m not sure that quality exists in mine. Blogs are meant to be social, of course, and as such the tone should be softer than say a news publication or magazine article. It makes the reader want to keep reading!

Leave a Reply

